· 

A day at work

I start work at 09:00 and the first thing I always have to do is put the books from the Book-drop onto the quarantining shelf. They stay there for 24 hours. Once I have done that I return the books that were on the Quarantine shelf, using Aleph. 

Because of COVID the Library is offering a "Click&Collect" service so I get the books and put them on the trolley that is in the Foyer of the Longwall Library for the students/fellows to pick up.

After that I start shelfing the books that have been returned. I arrange them according to the floor they are on and then on each floor I make sure the books are in DDC order so that shelfing is easier and doesn't take too much time. For shelfing I sometimes have to walk up three floors since unfortunately the lift isn't working. I still enjoy shelfing a lot, since it gives me the opportunity to have a look at all the books that are currently in the library. 

I also really like processing the books that were ordered. I print out the shelfmark and stamp the books so that it's visible that the books belong to the College Library. After that I cover the books that aren't a hardback, so that they are protected and so that the marks of use aren't visible after a short time. 

Once I have done those reoccurring tasks I have a look around and see where I can help. 

Usually after Lunch someone goes and get's the mail from the Porter's Lodge. 

I finish work at 17:00.